Executive Committee

The ACTG Executive Committee (AEC) is the primary governing body of the ACTG and is ultimately responsible for all scientific, administrative, and fiscal decisions on behalf of the Network. The AEC oversees (through the activities of the Scientific Agenda Steering Committee) the scientific direction and research agendas of the ACTG and is responsible for oversight of all clinical trials activities and timely analysis and dissemination of study results. The AEC develops and implements bylaws, policies, and procedures of the network. Through the Performance Evaluation Committee (PEC), the AEC establishes standards of performance for the OPS, the SDMC, the Scientific and Resource Committees, the Network Laboratories (NL), and the Clinical Trials Units (CTUs) and Clinical Research Sites (CRSs). The AEC oversees the allocation of resources of the Core, including distributions for the specialty laboratories, the OPS, the Scientific and Resource Committees, the Global Community Advisory Board (GCAB), overhead accounts, and pharmaceutical supplemental and discretionary funds. The AEC also makes decisions and recommendations to DAIDS regarding the allocation of protocol implementation funds and annual budget allocations made to each of the ACTG-affiliated CTUs/CRSs based on site performance evaluations.